Established in 1664 and incorporated by Home Rule Charter on October 30, 1672, the Town of New Shoreham (named after Shoreham in Sussex County, England) has a Council-Manager form of government. 

The Town Council is comprised of a First Warden, Second Warden and three Town Councilors, elected each even numbered year for a two-year term.  Regular Town Council meetings are generally held on the first Monday and third Wednesday of each month at 7:00pm, at the Town Hall or other designated location.   View or download the 2015 Town Council Meeting Schedule.  Check the website News section for meeting cancellations or other changes or contact the Town Clerk's Office at 466-3200 to confirm the meeting schedule.

Use the link below to access Town Council agenda and minutes, as well as other Town documents.

          Town of New Shoreham ClerkBase Home Page       

View or download the Council approved Town Schedule of Fees, as of August 12, 2015.

View or download the Guideline and Form for Public Records Requests.

New Shoreham Town Council
PO Box 220 ~ Block Island, RI 02807

Tel:  (401) 466-3215 

Fax:  (401) 466-3219


Council Members (terms expire Dec 2016)


Kenneth C. Lacoste, First Warden

Norris Pike, Second Warden

Terry Mooney

Mark Emmanuelle

Chris Warfel



                   Other Officials (terms expire Dec 2016)


Margaret O'Neill, Moderator

Martha Ball, Assistant Moderator

Vincent J. McAloon, Town Sergeant


The Town Manager, chosen by the Town Council for an indefinite term, is responsible to the Town Council for the execution of its policies and laws for the administration of the town government.

New Shoreham Town Manager
PO Box 220 ~ Block Island, RI 02807

Tel:  (401) 466-3210 

Fax:  (401) 466-3219


Town Manager:         

Nancy O. Dodge

Town Manager Assistant:  

Shirlyne Gobern

An important provision of the Town Charter is the annual financial town meeting, generally held on the first Monday in May of each year for the purpose of adopting a budget for the upcoming fiscal year, which runs from July 1 through June 30.

Town HallThe Town Hall is located at 16 Old Town Rd.  The mailing address is PO Box 220, Block Island, RI  02807.


In accordance with Federal law and U.S. Department of Agriculture policy, this institution is prohibited from discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability.  (Not all prohibited bases apply to all programs.)

To file a complaint of discrimination, write USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20250-9410, or call (800) 795-3272 (voice), or (202) 720-6382 (TDD).

~ Download Forms and Documents Below (requires Adobe Acrobat Reader):  Get Adobe Reader

Charter of 2010

Hazard Mitigation Plan

Draft Settlement - Interstate Nav

Town Schedule of Fees as of August 12, 2015

2015 Town Council Meeting Schedule

Public Records Request Guidelines & Form

CDBG Grant Application - 2014

Town Council Agenda 1/4/2015

Town of New Shoreham | PO Box 220 | Block Island, RI 02807 | Telephone: (401)-466-3200 | Copyright © 2007